Sunday, February 17, 2013

His Happy Self Again...


Well it all makes sense now. Maddox had his doctor's appointment for his 6 month shots and he had RSV and an ear infection. So I'm pretty sure that the reason he was being so fussy all those nights was because of his ear infection. I had a feeling that something was going on but it's so hard to know. The RSV was pretty evident by his coughing and runny nose. Luckily, he didn't get a fever or diarrhea but his cough was really bad. I could tell it was painful because he would cry a little every time he coughed and it would wake him up at night. For the last week and a half, I have been taking hot showers with him in the mornings and nights hoping that the steam would help his congestion. The doctor gave him an antibiotic for his ear infection but nothing for the RSV because he was already improving on his own. Almost overnight, Maddy reverted back to his normal happy self. I was so relieved! But also, I felt bad that he was fussy and miserable because he was uncomfortable and in pain. Anyway, for now on, if he isn't acting himself, I will assume that something is wrong physically and take him to the doctor sooner. Maddy is now 7 months and still growing like a weed. He weighs 20 lbs. He still isn't crawling yet but seems to be trying. He gets up on his hands and knees sometimes and seems to move around the floor but mostly by rolling or scooting. He has also started "talking" and saying "mamamama" and "bababababa" over and over again. It is so much fun to hear him getting close to saying real words! He also still loves his feet and still puts them in his mouth (I bathe him everyday and try to keep his feet clean). Maddox has also started giving kisses but they are always very open-mouthed. I don't mind though because I think it is the sweetest thing in the world when he leans in to touch his mouth to mine. He has also learned the meaning of "no" or at least understands when I'm telling him to not do something like bite me while breastfeeding or spitting out his baby food for fun. He doesn't seem to get sad when I say no, instead he gets a little mad. It's really cute but at least he is learning to listen. Maddox still thinks Cuni is hilarious and loves to watch him walk around the room which is rare since Cuni is extremely lazy. Maddy is still night nursing like a champ. He stocks up and eats every couple hours during the night. And then during the day, he only nurses about 3 or 4 times. It's ok though because I have come to terms with the fact that it's just part of being a mom. After my horrible experience with the Cry It Out Method, I have embraced a new mentality that has made me happier as a mom. It may fall under the "attachment parenting" category but I don't care. After writing my last blog post and after a night of listening to my precious angel cry himself to sleep, I had a breakdown. I cried for a couple hours and prayed for forgiveness. I know that might seem melodramatic but I sincerely felt like I had made a huge mistake and had done something terribly wrong. I decided that I would never restrain myself from comforting my son again. So I decided to do what feels right. Since then I have been mothering Maddy completely and totally according to his needs- I hold him if he wants to be held, I feed him if he wants to eat, I let him sleep with me if he wants to, etc. I honestly think that this is what works for us and makes us both the happiest. He knows that I am there for him to meet his needs and he can always trust that I will be there for him. Eventually, he will grow out of the night nursing thing and sleep through the night and eventually, he will be ready to sleep in his own room but for now, he needs to be close to his mom. On Saturday, we went to the Phoenix Zoo with Michelle and Loni and their kids. It was a lot of fun. When we went into the petting zoo area, we saw lots of goats walking around. Allan was holding Maddy and when he leaned down to let Maddy get closer to a goat, Maddy stuck out his lower lip and started crying. He was scared of the goat or something. It was so cute! So we left the petting zoo area and then he was fine. Anyway, a lot has happened and I feel like Maddy is progressing even faster now. He is starting to look like a little boy and not a baby anymore. He still doesn't have a ton of hair but it's growing and I brush it now. His eyes are still bright blue and he is still extremely thick and solid. He loves his saucer and sits on the floor and plays with his toys like a good little boy. He also still watches his Spanish cartoons: Dora La Exploradora and La Casa de Mickey. Maddox is the best baby and goes with me everywhere. I couldn't imagine life without him. He is my everything! I love him so much and am so thankful for his happy amd carefree personality. He is so easy to make smile and laugh. We are truly blessed to have Maddox as our son.