Friday, September 6, 2013
Our Iittle "terremoto"
So Maddox has earned a new nickname: "terremoto" which means earthquake in Spanish. I almost think "tornado" would be more appropriate or something that destroys everything in its path incredibly quickly. Needless to say, it has been very difficult to take Maddox to other people's houses or new places. He is just so curious and now that he's mobile, he's incredibly fast. After I remove him from one potential path of destruction, I turn around and he has found another. And I should probably clarify, Maddox has no impure intentions. He simply loves touching, throwing, hitting and grabbing things. It's curiosity and discovery that motivate him. We went to my friend's baby blessing last Sunday and then to her parents' house afterward. During our one-hour stay, Maddox turned on their gas stove, opened a bird cage several times(no, the bird didn't escape thank goodness but all the other kids just looked at Maddox like they were jealous that he dared do what they all wanted to do), opened the door on their very tightly-shut entertainment center and pushed buttons on all the devices, climbed up the stairs about 20 times (even though he hasn't learned how to go down the stairs yet), tried to escape out the front door every time someone came in or out and the list goes on. And this all happened while we were watching him like a hawk. It's amazing how much energy Maddox has and how he can outlast us and outsmart us sometimes. It's to the point where I asked Allan if maybe Maddox has a hyperactive disorder or something where he has too much energy. I know it's my first kid so I just don't get it but I am adjusting...slowly. And even though it is stressful to take him places, I am still loving every minute of motherhood. I look at it as trying to cage a wild animal. Of course, it's going to be difficult but when we get home or whenever we are in a child-proof place, I let him "out of his cage" and let him go free. I love watching him run all around in the gym at church or when we take Cuni for a walk and he just wanders wherever he wants. Recently, he has been putting a clear plastic mixing bowl over his head and doing laps around the house. He thinks it's so fun. Then the other day he tried putting one of my shirts over his head and face and did the same but ran into a couple of walls and furniture so that didn't last too long. He went back to the bowl and did a couple more laps. Maddox has learned how to take Cuni on walks. I can't say Cuni is too excited about it but Maddox loves it. We go on a walk almost every day and Maddox gets to hold the leash the whole time. Sometimes, he gets distracted and wants to play with rocks or bushes and I have to hurry him along. Afterall, we are walking out in 100 plus degree heat. The heat does not seem to bother or slow down Maddox at all though. He loves being outside and he loves being a big boy and getting to hold the leash. Maddox is still a picky eater. He will only eat fresh fruit, pasta, hot dogs, and toast. That is literally his whole diet. But I am still breastfeeding him so he is getting plenty of nutrition. We all got sick last week and luckily, Maddox only got a little sick. We had bad colds and mine turned into a sinus infection. I would say that was the hardest week of motherhood. I had no energy and my head felt like it was going to explode. I felt bad that I couldn't play with Maddox or take him out. All I wanted to do was sleep and I felt too weak to do anything. But he is such a good boy and just played with his toys and read his books. He loves his books. Something else Maddox loves is hitting. I've been trying to teach him that he shouldn't hit people but he just doesn't get it. It's his way of communicating. When I was sick, I laid out a blanket in the middle of the floor with a pillow and laid there while Maddox played around me. I figured it was the least I could do and that way, I would still be somewhat "accessible." Maddox kept hitting me right in the head. I think after I kept saying "Ouwee" and "No" he realized that I didn't like it. But he still hits me on my chest when he wants to nurse. And he hits the couch when he wants the remote or my water bottle either because he thinks hitting the couch will move those items closer to him or because he knows that I understand his hitting language. I hope that eventually he realizes that hitting isn't a good form of communication. Maddox doesn't seem to be ready to talk yet. He still says "Mama" and "Dada" but nothing else. Maddox has learned to love his naps. I think it has a lot to do with the fact that he only gets his pacifier when he is napping. But it has become very easy to put Maddox down. I just turn on his fan and humidifier and lay him down with his pacifier and his blankie. He smiles and lays there and eventually falls asleep. Maddox is still very affectionate and loves to give me hugs and kisses and loves being held. It makes me so happy that even with how busy and active he is, Maddox will still walk up to me and hit me letting me know that he wants his Mama to hold him. It melts my heart and assures me that Maddox will always be my little sweetheart.
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)