Above: Maddy's funny faces while watching TV
So Maddox is almost 15 months old and time seems to be slowing down a bit which is good. I feel like the first year of his life flew by. These last three months have been nice. Maddox is getting better at communicating and is understanding a lot of what we say and do. He waves, dances, points, brings me books to read, shakes his head (a lot) when he doesn't like something or doesn't want to do something, gives great kisses, throws balls, walks Cuni, gives Cuni treats, gives high fives, climbs on the couches, plays games on the Ipad and computer, and screams and yells when he is happy and when he is mad. So still no talking other than Mama, Dada and he now can say "go" to Cuni when we open the door for Cuni to go to the bathroom. But Maddox understands a lot of words like: no, tiempo, besos, bye-bye, fuera, salimos, vamos, night-night and lots of other words. I know he will be a little slower because of the two languages but I'm trying to stick with it and not get worried over the delay. Maddox loves his baths and loves swimming. When we take our daily walk, I always try to avoid walking by the pool because without fail, Maddox tries to open the gate and then throws a little tantrum when I pull him away to continue on our way. Maddox is still very active and never stops moving unless he is sleeping. He goes and goes and goes and moves really fast. But he is a very good boy and just has lots of energy. The other day when we went swimming, Maddox wanted to get out of the main pool and go into the hot tub so I let him. Then he wanted to go back into the main pool, then back again. He was having so much fun going back and forth and felt like such a big boy getting out of the pools by himself. I subbed for the 5-year-olds in primary last Sunday and took Maddox in with me. He loved being with the other kids and sat up to the table with the other kids in his little chair. He was so well-behaved and just loved belonging and being part of the group. It was so cute. Maddox definitely loves other kids and always laughs or smiles at any kid that he sees whether we are in the grocery store, at church or anywhere else. Maddox is down to one 3-hour nap and goes to bed around 8:30. He has been waking up earlier and earlier. So no more sleeping in for Mama. I was lucky for the first year but no more waking up at 10. It's okay though because we get to play with Daddy before he goes to work. Now I just have to adjust my bedtime which hasn't happened yet so I have been a little tired. Maddox is still a picky eater. Still pasta, hot dogs, toast, yogurt, fruit but only fresh fruit, and sometimes applesauce. I keep telling myself that since I am breastfeeding it's okay that he doesn't eat veggies or a variety but eventually, I will have to figure out how to get him to overcome his finicky eating. Just not today. At least, he is doing well with a fork and spoon. He is learning how to use both and loves feeding himself. Maddox is still the love of our lives and continues to be our everything. He is so much fun and although a handful, he is so sweet and loving. It's a huge blessing having a child that expresses his love for his parents so well. We are truly blessed.