Friday, August 16, 2013
Busy Boy
Last Saturday, I left Maddox with a babysitter for the first time. He did really well. And surprisingly, I was not worried about him. Allan and I went to the temple so we were gone for almost 4 hours. Maddox napped for a couple hours and then played with the babysitter for the rest of the time. I was so proud of him. He didn't cry and wasn't as shy as I thought he would be. I'm starting to think that he only acts shy when I'm holding him or when I'm around. I don't really get it but it's not a big deal. Anyway, Maddox has learned to love music and dancing. Anytime a song comes on or anytime I start dancing, he will start swaying from side to side and bouncing. It's really cute. He is still clapping and I think he uses clapping as a form of communication. Sometimes, when he is done eating and full, he will clap and sometimes, when I'm changing his diaper, he will clap to let me know that he doesn't like laying down and wants to stand up. It's kind of funny but I'm glad he has figured out how to let me know how he is feeling. Maddox does use words like Mama and Dada but no other words yet. I really need to work on talking to him more. I read books to him everyday and I point to things and say the name for them but he just doesn't seem interested in repeating me and doesn't seem to care. Maddox is extremely busy and curious and always seems to get into trouble. It's getting more difficult to take him places like restaurants, church, and other people's houses. All he wants to do is walk around and explore touching everything along the way. He refuses to just sit still and let Allan or I hold him. I totally get it though because he loves being independent and when we're in a new place, he just gets so excited. Maddox is really good with other kids and loves giving them kisses and patting them on their heads. He always laughs at other kids and tries to play with them. It really makes me want another baby. I know Maddox would be such a good brother and he would have so much fun playing with someone other than me all day. I have been trying to be more accessible recently and have been sitting on the floor instead of the couch. I find that Maddox gets a little fussy if I'm sitting on the couch because he wants up but I won't let him just climb all over the couch because we have hard floors and I don't want him falling. Anyway, if I'm on the floor, Maddy can give me hugs and kisses or bring me a toy or a book and it just makes him happier. I've also been trying to not use the word "no" unless he's doing something that could hurt him or someone else. I got to a point where I was overusing the word and it was losing its significance to him. Also, I don't like spending the whole day telling Maddox no. At his age, he wants to do what I do and what Allan does and he wants to play with things that aren't toys just for that reason- they aren't his toys. I'm trying to let him do as much as possible without completely destroying our house and I'm also trying to take him to the museum and swimming at least once a week. He's such a good boy and I love watching his mind work. Maddox is getting so smart and one of his tricks is that he will drop or throw a toy somewhere that he's not supposed to be just so that he has an excuse to be in that place to go get his toy. He does that with trying to get past the chair barrier to the dog food and he does it with the bathrooms and the bathtub. It's hilarious because I know exactly what he is thinking. I am so in love with him and am so happy he is such an easy-going kid.