Sunday, November 2, 2014
Maddox is learning to listen
Maddox... where do I begin? Maddox is still one very crazy kid. He has so much energy and I do not. Up until about 3 months ago, I have to admit that I really believed that I could consider myself patient. Every time I heard stories about moms who lose it on their kids or have break downs, I would think, "wow, I must be one of the lucky ones." Well, these past two months have taught me that no, I am not patient and no, I am not one of the lucky ones. Ha ha. I have lost it on Maddox and I have had a break down. But two and a half months later, I am proud to say I am happy and adjusted. Maddox is such a good boy and every day I realize just how lucky I am to be his mom. He is learning to listen and has been doing a really good job. He is such a big helper and loves Jaxy so much. I am so grateful that he is so affectionate and has never shown an ounce of violence toward other kids. He is loving and still gives me hugs and kisses all the time. He still wants to snuggle with me and wants me to hold him. He is always wanting to kiss Jaxy and get him to smile. Maddox is the best big brother ever. Now Maddox does have some weaknesses...A couple weeks ago, I thought it would be a good idea to go to Toddler Time at the library which is where 20+ toddlers sit on the floor of a room sitting right next to their moms and listen to a boring lady read a book with very small pictures in the front of the room. So Maddox and I get into the room and I have Jaxon in my carrier and we sit down on the rug. Well Maddox sat down on the rug for 2 seconds. Then he got up and started running around, climbing on the cupboards, trying to use the sink, opening the door and running out, and screaming when I tried to make him sit down. After 5 minutes, we were done. We didn't even get through one book. As I was walking out of the library, I told myself that this is just who Maddox is. He is not a toddler that sits quietly and listens to adults read books. He is not a calm toddler. He is a crazy, energetic, loud little boy and I'm ok with that. I can't change him and I don't want to. But I can try to improve him and that's what we have been working on. We have been working on his listening skills and him holding my hand and not running away. Maddox has made great improvement in those areas in the last couple of months and has not run away from me in a while. When he starts to sprint away, I yell, "Maddox! Stop and listen!" And usually after one or two times of yelling that, he listens and stops or comes back. Maddox has been practicing telling me when he needs a new diaper. He still isn't interested in using the toilet but I didn't figure that out until he peed in the corner of the entryway the other day. He came to me without a diaper on and told me he went "caca" which to him means pee and poop interchangeably. But I got nervous and told him to show me where and took me to the corner by the front door. Luckily, it was on the tile but needless to say, I told him not to take off his diaper anymore. Maddox has a new fascination with Disney princess books. I got a whole bunch of books from a yard sale a while ago but just got them out recently because Maddox is now old enough to read books with paper pages. His favorite book is The Little Mermaid and his second favorite book is Sleeping Beauty. We read a verse out of the Book of Mormon every night and then one of his princess books. And he sleeps holding both books and one of his cars. He is so adorable. Maddox is still my baby and I love that he is still so affectionate. I am so incredibly in love with him!