Tuesday, June 18, 2013
Sleeping through the night...at last!
I have to admit... I was right. I know that a lot of people and a lot of other parents believe in the Cry it Out Method, the Interval Training Method, the "Close the door and walk away" Method and that's fine. As for me, I believe that when the time is right, it will happen. In the past, when I would try to sleep-train Maddox, it was miserable. He was unhappy and I was unhappy and Daddy was unhappy and we were all sleep-deprived. There was no progress and I always gave up after 3 or 4 nights. But this time, the timing felt right and Maddox was ready. Four nights ago, I decided I would stop nursing him at night and teach him to sleep in his own bed. 5:00 would be the earliest I would nurse him and let him into our bed. When he would wake up, I decided I would just rock him back to sleep and put him back in his bed. So night 1 was rough. Maddox woke up 4 or 5 times and cried for about 30 minutes each time. Night 2 was better. He only woke up 2 or 3 times. Night 3 he woke up once and last night- night 4... HE SLEPT THROUGH THE NIGHT! I was so excited and so proud of him. Now, I know it's only one night so I am hoping that by writing this I'm not jinxing myself. We'll see how tonight goes. But contrary to my previous attempts, this time I am seeing progress. I nursed him at 6:00 this morning and let him sleep with me for the rest of the morning. I don't mind the co-sleeping at all. In fact, the only reason I am sleep-training him is so that he learns he doesn't need to nurse all night. And so that eventually I can move him into his own room probably within the next couple of months. Although, I find myself feeling a lot of anxiety whenever I think about him sleeping in another room and not right next to me. But for the sake of our marriage, I think it has to happen eventually and probably sooner rather than later. Well after that big news, I feel like there isn't much more to say. Maddox is still really close to walking on his own. I'm sure it will happen any day now. He knows who Cuni is and when I ask him where Cuni is, he looks at him. No, he's not pointing yet and he's not clapping either but hey, at least he's understanding a little bit of what's going on around him. Maddox is going through an awkward phase with his hair. As his mother, I think he is beautiful and that includes thinking his hair is beautiful. But to the world, he doesn't have good hair. It's really long in the back and has a weird curly wavy thing going on but only in the back. On top, his hair is straight and sparse. So today we went swimming and after the sunscreen and chlorine, his hair was not looking its best. Allan brought to my attention his hair issues and that's when I realized all of this. But luckily, it's just a phase and I think it's because he is transitioning from his baby hair to little boy hair. I still think he is gorgeous. Anyway, Maddox is still a big eater. The other day he ate a whole can of Spaghetti-o's and he can eat fruit and pasta for days. We had his first experience in a bouncy house at a little girl's birthday party and he hated it. He was really scared. But I'm sure he will learn to like bouncy houses even though his dad wanted to teach him to like it now. It's funny how the never-ending battle between Allan and me is my propensity to baby Maddox a little too much and Allan's propensity to toughen him up a little too much. I'm sure we'll figure it out and find the right balance someday. But for now, Maddox is my baby.