Wednesday, July 3, 2013

Grateful


Wednesday marks the one year anniversary of the birth of our little boy.  As the day approaches, I am overwhelmed with gratitude.  I feel so honored that I was chosen to be Maddox's mother.  I feel thankful for every moment I have spent with him.  There have been many precious moments when I have observed him enthralled with a book, turning the pages quietly.  Or when our eyes have met for several minutes while I nursed him or rocked him to sleep.  Although he can't understand my words yet, I hope my love for him is loud and clear.  I hope that when he feels my heart beat, he knows that it is filled with love for him.

Maddox is walking... a little bit.  He can walk but he chooses not to.  It's actually a little frustrating because I keep trying to help him by standing him up and then walking away, calling him to walk to me.  But he plops down immediately and crawls to me.  I think he's a little on the lazy side.  Plus, he is one fast crawler.  It's actually amazing watching him crawl across the room oftentimes faster than I can walk.  He usually just walks around the house using the walls and furniture as support so crawling is his last resort.  I'm sure eventually he will trust himself enough to let go.  Maddox still loves pasta and fruit and he still loves books.  He has been obsessed with the toilet recently which really grosses me out.  He has stuck his hand into the water a couple of times because he knows how to lift the toilet seat up.  I have been trying to keep him out of the bathrooms but it's hard when I need to do my hair or brush my teeth.  If I lock him out, he just pounds on the door and cries until I let him in.  I usually solve the problem by not doing my hair.  It's amazing how having a kid forces you to prioritize and figure out what things are truly necessary.  I've discovered that a shower and brushing my teeth are about all I get.  Maddox is still doing well at nights.  He wasn't feeling well and had a fever a couple nights ago and woke up several times.  But other than that, he has been sleeping until about 5 or 6 in the morning.  It's been really nice.  Maddox loves his daddy.  Allan always seems to get him to laugh uncontrollably.  It's the cutest thing watching them play.  And of course, Maddox says "dada" all the time.  I think he really knows what it means too.  He says "mama" too and he knows what that means but he only says it when he's crying.  Right now, Daddy is the "fun" parent and I'm the one that provides the food and comfort.  It's ok though.  I don't mind.  I'm so thankful for our little family.  And this week, I'm especially grateful for this past year of our lives.